Title: Indiana Wants Me

Artist: R. Dean Taylor

Album: I Think, Therefore, I Am

Year Released: 1970

What It Is:Classic one-hit wonder pop of the 70’s. Fits into the ‘maudlin pop’ genre (as I just coined it) that was rife among singer-songwriter types in the early days of that decade. All you need was a sad sad song and a whole lot of strings in the string section, and viola, a hit record!

Riffage / Hookage: The chorus, of course, is a huge hook. Otherwise it wouldn’t be a hit.

Cowbell?: You couldn’t hear the cowbell because of the over-wrought strings.

Words Of Wisdom: If a man ever needed dyin’, he did
No one had the right to say what he said about you
And it’s so cold and lonely here without you
Out there the law’s a-comin’
I’m scared and so tired of runnin'”

That’s definitely a 70’s wimpy singer-songwriter mentality. Can you imagine a gangsta, or a true rock-and-roll outlaw singing like that. They’d be celebrating that they waxed the man that dissed their woman and would be just waitin’ for the cops. Me, I’d get one of those good defense lawyers on Law & Order and claim not guilty by mental disease or defect. Maybe get it knocked down to Man 2.

Mixology Report: Good for a 70’s mix of like minded songs. Otherwise, out of context, people will think yer nuts. Of course, I am.

For The Good Of The Order: Right now I am back in Indiana, and thus far have not been arrested. So that’s good for me.

Ah, yes, the video. God love You Tube. It’s a video with about as much production value as “Manos, The Hands Of Fate”.

