Title: XXX

Artist: Helium

Album: Pirate Prude

Year Released: 1994

What It Is:Slow. Slow and noisy. Slow and noisy and beautiful. Slow and noisy and beautiful and scary.

Riffage / Hookage: Not in a traditional sense, really. The guitar is noisy and rife with distortion and feedback. The melody is hauntingly slow and off kilter a bit. The whole thing sounds like it’s been recorded during a Robitussen spree.

Cowbell?: Noper. Just drummin’.

Words Of Wisdom: “And now I feel good, I feel like candy
go out on the street I wanna make some money
That was just a joke about the money
you’re gonna pay me with your life”

I am mixed about what this song really means. Is Mary Timony a hooker? Is she complaining that men treat her like a hooker and try to buy her love? Do the sirens mean anything? Do they mean…MURDER? Is this all a metaphor? Am I reading way too much into this? Is the slow tempo causing me to overthink?

Mixology Report:Good for our adventurous mixers.

For The Good Of The Order: The video, below, was a star attraction on “Beavis & Butthead” where I saw it first. The miscreants were riffing on how she just woke up, and how slow the thing was, and why she beat the hell out of the overhead projector. I wonder about the projector as well. Mr. Lebedeff would be distraught.

