Title: Losing My Edge

Artist: LCD Soundsystem

Album: Originally the B-Side of “Beat Connection”, then on the LCD Soundsystem debut album.

Year Released: 2002

What It Is: A lament of a hipster that he is not on the cutting edge anymore, and is not seeing the bands before they become the hip bands. He was there to see Suicide, Captain Beefheart, Daft Punk, before they were hipster darlings. It’s how I feel when I read the non-mainstream music press. “Who the hell are these guys?”

Riffage / Hookage:There’s some neat keyboard riffs.

Cowbell?: Electronic percussion abounds.

Words Of Wisdom: “GIL SCOTT HERON!”

Mixology Report: Great for hipster doofuses, because I heard that you have a compilation of every good song ever done by anybody.

For The Good Of The Order: I first heard LCD Soundsystem because of an internet mystery disc meme, and I thank Abby from Scotland to this day!

Here’s the video. It’s the short version, and it’s hard to see someone get punched in the face all of the time, but you get the idea about the song.

