Title: Mind Talking

Artist: Arson Garden

Album: The Belle Stomp

Year Released: 1994

What It Is: Indiana University’s own Arson Garden breaks out of Indianapolis and onto a major label – for about 59 seconds. The label pulled back, the record died, and the group soon split. I guess they reformed somewhat and went to Chicago, but nothing. Singer April Combs is now a professor at the University of Cincinnati. That’s not quite a lateral career move.

Riffage / Hookage: Not really a straight forward riff, however I do dig the herky-jerky guitar. The bass line is neat and the chorus is hooky enough. It could have done something in the alternative universe. (Not the bizarro universe, the alt-rock universe).

Cowbell?: Not that I heard. But some decent cymbal work, and you know how I feel about that.

Words Of Wisdom: Well, I didn’t find the lyrics online and I am loath to misquote.

Mixology Report: I dig ’em enough. I have about 4 or 5 Arson Garden tracks on my mix lists, mainly because their fresh to people’s ears (and they’re good!)

For The Good Of The Order: First time I saw them must have been 1991. I just moved to Indy and was hanging out at the Patio. I started talking to this cute girl, just small talk. She said, “The band’s about to start…” and I said I’d catch her after the set. Well, um, next thing I know SHE’S ON STAGE! Needless to say I was floored. And no, I never did resume that scintillating conversation.

Here’s the vid. They coulda been contenders! Notice that it is very alterna-90’s!


