Title: Hang Straight Up

Artist: I Love You

Album: I Love You

Year Released: 1990

What It Is:Somewhere in that fine line between standard issue hard rock and alternative grunge lied I Love You. They definitely had some psychedelical influences in there too. It kicked some asses and took some names, but was pretty much ignored because, well, that’s the way it goes in the big city.

Riffage / Hookage: Pretty darn good riffin’ and guitar playin’ – but it was not ‘metal’ enough for the hair banders (whatever that meant) and too polished for the punkers (again, who cared). Well, I liked it, at least.

Cowbell?: No, but I really dig the hollowy drum sound.

Words Of Wisdom: Ack, I’m getting bad. Couldn’t find the lyrics. But trust me, they’re not that linear.

Mixology Report: It’s good for a rockin’ or drivin’ mix, I guarantee!

For The Good Of The Order: I first saw this video at about 12:55 AM on MTV during the ending of “120 Minutes” and they cut it off, but still, I liked it enough to remember it. And lo and behold, I found it in the record store! So MTV did create a few sales…

And someone did like them enough to book them on Rick Dees’ old show. Here’s proof!