Title: Fancy Colours

Artist: Chicago (Yes, SHUT UP!)

Album: Chicago II

Year Released: 1970

What It Is: A great sample of their jazz-ish demi-fusionistic rock before they devolved into brain-dead adult contemporary hacks of the worst kind. It’s hard to fathom that a band that actually put “The whole world’s watching” chant from the 1968 Convention on an album as part of a track went out and made “You’re The Inspiration” and “If She Would Have Been Faithful”. I mean, really.

Riffage / Hookage: Good hookage in the chorus and some dandy horn charts. Some pretty darn good wah-wah from Terry Kath (who was a most underrated guitarist, and the band really lost it’s rock-n-roll heart when he died, not that they had much rock left by then).

Cowbell?: The song opens with tinkly chimes and bells, but after that it’s standard drumming until the requisite (yet brief) drum solo.

Words Of Wisdom: “Going where the orange sun has never died
And your swirling marble eyes shine
Laughing
Burning through the light
Bittersweet the drops of life
Memories only fading”

Mixology Report: Heck, yeah. In a mystery mix people will know its Chicago, but probably not the song (unless their local FM rock station has a deep cut play list). Else, it may cause people to reconsider early 70’s Chicago (the later stuff is irreconcilable…)

Top Five Genius Results: Power Failure – Procol Harum
Cold Morning Light – Todd Rundgren
You Know It Doesn’t Matter Anymore – Hall & Oates
Smiling Phases – Blood, Sweat & Tears
It’s Wonderful – The Rascals

For The Good Of The Order: I do have a lot of songs from 1970 posted thus far. It’s not that I have special memories of 1970. It was before I started kindergarten (I was born 18 days past the deadline) and really didn’t listen to much except the singles or albums I already had acquired from my sister and brother, or if I could sneak down and hear what my brother was playing the basement (most likely Grand Funk Railroad, Steppenwolf, or Iron Butterfly). This wasn’t a single, either. The first time I heard this was on the Wabash College radio station about 1978 or so. Some music major, I guess, was talking about how the ending is unresolved (I think that’s the proper term) since it doesn’t end on the root note of the key. Which, of course you kind of miss in the video, since the effect is pretty dramatic as the song fades after that same note is blasted out time and again.

Speaking of a video, I did find one from a Japanese TV broadcast in 1972. The video fidelity is, well, rotten. I’ve seen daguerreotypes with more color fidelity. However, the sound is fine and that’s what’s important.

