Title: Beyond Belief

Artist: Elvis Costello

Album: Imperial Bedroom

Year Released: 1982

What It Is: The kick-off track from one of Costello’s best albums. The Attractions are in rare form, the production by Geoff Emerick is right on target, and Costello’s writing is at its best – both tuneful and wordy! In fact, sometimes a bit too wordy (as it may have hampered its success on the radio). (Wait, what am I kidding, Costello on the radio? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!)

Riffage / Hookage: In a dense song like this, it’s hard to establish a true hook, but the song is rather singable despite the verbosity.

Cowbell?: No, a cowbell wouldn’t add anything here. The production is dense enough to swallow up anything like a cowbell.

Words Of Wisdom: “You know she has no sense
For all your jealousy
In a sense she still smiles very sweetly

Charged with insults and flattery
Her body moves with malice
Do you have to be so cruel to be callous

And now you find you fit this identikit completely
You say you have no secrets
And then leave discreetly”

Mixology Report: Costello’s a pretty consistent element in many of my mixes, because of his ever-mutating sound.

Top Five Genius Results: Hitsville UK – The Clash
I’m The Man – Joe Jackson (sidebar, each time I hear that song now, I think of this OSU football rant. (“I’m A MAN! I’M 40! at 2:25”, but I digress…)
Crazy – REM (cover of Pylon tune)
Kiss Me On The Bus – The Replacements
TVC15 – David Bowie

For The Good Of The Order: What can I say about Costello? Um, have about three days. Basically, buy his stuff. He’s great!

Here’s a live 2003 version of this great tune from A & E’s “By Request” show. Dig it, kiddies!

