Maybe I booked too many travel days. Ah, well, all in pursuit of Platinum status.

Title: The Safety Dance

Artist: Men Without Hats

Album: Rhythm Of Youth

Year Released: 1982

What It Is: An all-time MTV classic. You’ve heard this. You’ve danced this. You love it, right?

Riffage / Hookage: The synth riff is an earwig. I hear echoes of it in other songs. Maybe it’s just me, but it’s pretty much a legendary synth riff.

Cowbell?: No, but there’s handclapping!

Words Of Wisdom: “Say, we can act if want to
If we don’t nobody will
And you can act real rude and totally removed
And I can act like an imbecile”

This song is some allegory of some sort, you know. I really haven’t spent too much time trying to figure out they lyrics.

Mixology Report: Perfect for all kinds of mixes, but make sure they’re lighthearted.

Top Five Genius Results: A Flock Of Seagulls – I Ran
Devo – Whip It
Modern English – I Melt With You
Gary Numan – Cars
Men At Work – Who Can It Be Now?

Wow, it’s an MTV highlight show!

For The Good Of The Order: We danced to this at our wedding. Yes, it’s true. I think our parents were amused, or non-plussed, or something!

The vid, of course!

And now, the literal version!

