Title: Love Action (I Believe In Love)

Artist: The Human League

Album: Dare!

Year Released: 1981

What It Is: The second big hit from “Dare” in the UK, (“The Sound Of The Crowd” charted three months before this) and the justification of the stylistic change of the Human League (at least commercially) from brooding electronic experimentalists to a arty synth-pop group. In the US, of course, the League were non entities until “Don’t You Want Me” (the third UK “Dare” single). This wasn’t even released in the US as a single – but got a boatload of MTV play.

Riffage / Hookage: Yeah, there are riffs. Electronic riffs for the most part, but riffs. Actually, I believe Jo Callis and Ian Burden do play guitar and bass on this, but they’re treated and mixed in with the synths. It’s pretty interesting to hear the various parts and treatments. Oh, and there are big ol’ hooks.

Cowbell?: Well, it’s not a real cowbell, but during the verses a darn ‘bell’ rings all the way through.

Words Of Wisdom: “I believe, I believe what the old man said
Though I know that there’s no Lord above
I believe in me, I believe in you
And you know I believe in love
I believe in truth though I lie a lot
I feel the pain from the push and shove
No matter what you put me through
I’ll still believe in love”

Mixology Report: It may surprise some people, because this is a pretty sophisticated song with a lot of moving parts in it.

Top Five Genius Results: Visage – Fade To Grey
Stranglers – No More Heroes
The Teardrop Explodes – Rewards
Dexy’s Midnight Runners – Geno
Ultravox – Vienna

For The Good Of The Order: I was quite certain that this was a big US hit. Even though I had the research books, I glossed over the entry for The League. And it wasn’t until much later, when a whole bunch of people (who didn’t have MTV in the early 80’s) said they didn’t know this song that I realized that it was just a UK hit. So much for my chart knowledge, eh?

Here’s the video. It’s one of the best early MTV vids.

Here’s a bored looking group on Top Of The Pops. Love the hair, Phil!

Oh, and one more, from Australia. Nice dancing, ladies!

